About ICGJ 2018

We are glad to announce the third annual International Conference on Game Jams, Hackathons, and Game Creation Events (ICGJ 2018). ICGJ is an interdisciplinary conference for educators, researchers, professionals, and event organizers across various fields related to game jams and hackathons. This one-day conference will hosted in San Francisco at GitHub HQ on March 18, 2018. This conference builds on expanding number of conferences, workshops series and research evaluating, enhancing, and improving game creation events. The conference proceedings will be published in the ACM Digital Library. See previous conferences.

Aims and Scope

Game jams and hackathons have become popular activities with their own unique culture and communities. Often held in a confined space for a limited duration of time, these activities offer enormous technological and social benefits for their participants. Studies can be conducted around the technical creation aspect of the activity, as well as its social and educational dynamics. The research area now has a diverse and dedicated following of scholars.

ICGJ is grateful to our wonderful sponsors


Conference Information

Submission Tracks

  • Full Papers (6-8 pages, ACM Conf. Proceedings)
  • Short Papers, Late Breaking and Position Papers (up to 4 pages, ACM article)
  • Event Reports of game jams or hackathons (up to 4 pages, ACM CHI extended abstract [LaTex][Word Template][Overleaf])
  • Games and Projects Showcase (up to 4 pages, ACM extended abstract)

Important Dates

  • December 29, 2017 (extended): Full, Short Paper submission deadline
  • December 29, 2017 (extended): Event Report abstract deadline
  • January 19, 2018: Notification of Acceptance (Full, Short Papers)
  • February 2, 2018: Late-breaking papers, project showecases, full event reports deadlines
  • February 12, 2018: Notification of Acceptance (All others)
  • March 18, 2018: Conference

Location and Registration

ICGJ 2018 will be held at Github Corporate Headquarters
88 Colin P Kelly Jr St
San Francisco, CA 94107


ICGJ 2018 Accepted Papers

  • Global Gov Jam: Motivational Aspects of Participants (Breno Gonçalves and Kiev Gama)
  • Social Aspects of the Game Development Process in the Global Gam Jam (Johanna Pirker, Andreas Punz, Isabel Lesjak and Anders Drachen)
  • Newsjam: Making Games at the Pace of News (Lindsay Grace)
  • Design Values of Game Jam Organizers (Annakaisa Kultima)
Event Reports
  • iThrive Games Empathy Jam at DigiPen (Heidi Mcdonald)
  • A gamejam with refugee children - how it changed our perspective (Sabina Dirks and Menno Van Pelt-Deen)
  • From One Location to Five (Alexey Izvalov, Serhii Nedilko and Vitalii Nedilko)
  • SLO Hacks: Embracing the Passionate Novice (Evan Shui, Selynna Sun and Foaad Khosmood)
  • Regional Character at a Large-Scale Jam: GGJ Hong Kong 2013-2018 (Hanna Wirman and Rhys Jones)
Lightning Talks
  • (coming soon)
Games Showcase
  • Games Showcase from the iThrive Games/DigiPen Empathy Game Jam (Heidi Mcdonald)
  • From Disruption (most ambitious failure) to Troublesome Tanks (best game ever) (Simon Grey and David Parker)
  • Lost In Transmission (Oded Sharon)


General Chair: Johanna Pirker
Program Chair: Lindsay Grace
Publication Chair: Allan Fowler
Local Chair: Foaad Khosmood

Program Committee

  • Ali Arya, Carleton University, Canada
  • William Crosbie, Raritan Valley Community College, USA
  • Drew Davidson, Carnegie Mellon University, USA
  • Christian Eckhardt, California Polytechnic State University, USA
  • Allan Fowler, Kennesaw State University, USA
  • Marcos Javier Gómez, Universidad Nacional de Córdoba, Argentina
  • Lindsay Grace, American University, USA
  • Xavier Ho, Design Lab, University of Sydney / CSIRO, Australia
  • Alexey Izvalov, Kirovograd Flight Academy of the National Aviation University, Ukraine
  • Mikael Jakobsson, Massachusetts Institute of Technology, USA
  • Foaad Khosmood, California Polytechnic State University, USA
  • Mathias Lux, Klagenfurt University, Austria
  • Johanna Pirker, Graz University of Technology, Austria
  • Jon Preston, Kennesaw State University, USA
  • Ian Schreiber, Rochester Institute of Technology, USA
  • Michael Adrir Scott, Falmouth University, UK
  • Wolfgang Slany, Graz University of Technology, Austria
  • Robin Sloan, Abertay University, UK
  • Peter Smith, University of Central Florida, USA
  • Nia Wearn, Staffordshire University, UK